Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Children should be required to follow strict rules set by their parents. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Societies around the world have various ideas about raising kids ideally. In my opinion, I am afraid to disagree with the strict method of parenting. I feel this for several reasons, which I will explore in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, being more flexible with children will boost their self-confidence about their own choices. For example, when I was younger, my mom and dad had never restricted studying hours and watching Television. They were trying to deliver the concept of self-discipline. As a result, I felt more responsible and appreciated the trust. So I was always trying to treasure this by finding the balance between doing my homework and having entertainment time. For this reason, I believe children need more space and flexibility.

Secondly, being very strict with children might lead to complete dependency on parents. To illustrate more, I will give an honest example. My Aunt is a very formal and rigid kind of parent. She used to make every single decision for her kids. She even chose for her kids what to study. So she strictly forced my cousin to study in a specific university, finally, after fulfilling her request. Her daughter flew to Spain to pursue her mother's plan. Unfortunately, she ended up dropping school and getting back home. All that happened because she couldn't make decisions when she was by her won. She was utterly relying on her mom. She realized she couldn't take her own path.

In addition, sometimes it is better to learn your lesson the hard way. By having your own experience. Without being judged or controlled by any other human, no matter who they are. For instance, I find myself constantly learning from my own mistakes. I can't relate to different personal experiences and thoughts. I prefer to take the risk and see my change. Eventually, it made me a better person.

TO sum up, parents should be more laid back and follow modern parenting methods. For the best of children, Especially for self-confidence and independence of their kids. In the hope of having strong leaders in the future.