"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The business manager states that in order to get more viewers to their news programs and to avoid losing their revenues in advertising they should increase their coverage of weather and local news to all their news programs. This conclusion had come due to the following reasons - Maximum complaints from the viewers about their coverage of weather and local news, Cancellation of advertising contracts of local businesses of showing late night advertisements. The assumptions that were carried out which led the business manager to come to this conclusion is not satisfactory.

Firstly, the manager assumed that the complaints received from it’s viewers were regarding less time given to local news and weather. Perhaps, it’s possible that their complaints were regarding the content shown in the coverage and not on how much time they were showing for. It’s possible that their news was not upto the mark and were not showing irrelevant local news and inaccurate weather reports. Thus, if the following implications are true then the manager’s solution is inconclusive.

Further, the assumption stated that the local businesses have cancelled their contracts of showing advertisements during night. It’s possible that their business isn’t doing so well and they do not have the budget to spend on late night advertisements. Also, the author’s argument doesn’t state how many businesses have cancelled contracts with the news channel. There can be only one or two and they might have cancelled because most of the population do sleep during the night and do not watch television much. Hence, if the above implications are true then the manager’s argument is unsatisfactory.

Finally, the manager concludes that all news programs should show coverage of weather and local news. The manager assumes that the viewers would want to see the local news and weather all day long in every news program. It’s highly unreasonable that just based on complaints regarding coverage on weather and local news from (not provided number of) viewers and cancellation of contract of late night advertisements from (not provided number of) local businesses should the manager conclude that weather and local news to be shown in all news programs. There is a chance that this may cause more loss of viewers from the news channel and ultimately loss of the channel’s revenue. Thus, if the implications are true then the manager’s solution doesn’t hold water.

Analysing the above assumptions I conclude that the argument the author states is unwarranted and does not have enough evidence to conclude the manager’s solution.