A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

During our student life, everyone has once complained about his dissatisfaction with the curriculum. The prompt above states that a nation should follow the same curriculum in the entire country until students enter college. The author of this statement does have some valid points to support this statement. Following different systems throughout the country is going to create multiple problems when students join college or are exposed to the outside world in the later stages of their life. Looking at the other side of the coin, there are certain aspects which vary in different parts of the country and also need to be taken into account. Thus while building an educational policy, all the levels have some role to play- center, states, schools, teachers and most importantly the students.

Students need to explore different domains during their higher secondary education providing them with appropriate skill-set to choose a stream in which they want to specialize. In order to implement this, a national curriculum is preferred as it takes into consideration the requirement of the students residing in different parts of the cities. While pursuing undergraduate and graduate studies in field like medicine and engineering, students are required to relocate to another city. Thus, it is preferred that students are trained to face all kinds of challenges they will encounter which can be implemented at the national level. Many students plan to their degree education and settle in foreign countries. Thus, a committee is required to at the national level which can compare the curriculum of other nations and set some minimum requirements which need to be fulfilled by all the states to prepare students achieve their goals while competing with international peers at a later stage in their life.

Albert Einstein had said-“If you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, all its life it is going to feel stupid”. One kind of educational framework is not going to meet the requirements of all the students. A person who wants to pursue Fashion Designing in future need not be made to study Science rigorously until class 10 or 12. Here an option of offering elective subjects can come to the rescue. The states should have a certain degree of autonomy while offering the choices for elective subjects. In Maharashtra state, it is essential to know Marathi fluently if you want to interact with local citizens who are not accustomed in speaking English. While South Indian states might require citizens to have a command over their local language. In this case, one solution will not be appropriate for all. Here, the national curriculum can make it compulsory for the students to study a third language besides English and Hindi. The options for third language should be left upon the states to decide and students should also be given an option to select for themselves.

The feedback of students and teachers play a key role in building a successful educational system. Given that a national curriculum will be followed, the teachers will not have much say in modifying it. The main problem in any centralized system is a single point of failure. The central agency will be burdened with enormous requests and will not be able to satisfy all of them. With this, if the teachers are made to teach from a curriculum which they are not finding fruitful or in the welfare of the students, they might gradually lose interest in their profession. Consequently, even students will not enjoy the learning experience. In a effective education model, it should be a democracy wherein at the end of the academic year students can provide feedback to their professors and amendments can be made in the curriculum if justified.

Therefore, it has been discussed that a national curriculum is necessary in order to prepare students to face global challenges. The initial years of education, before a student joins college, build the foundation. Hence, it is necessary for the government to analyze all the national and international challenges and design a framework. At the same time, the states, teachers and even students should be provided some degree of autonomy so that the framework does not become monotonous in the long run.