The following appeared in a memorandum from the manager of WWAC radio station.

"To reverse a decline in listener numbers, our owners have decided that WWAC must change from its current rock-music format. The decline has occurred despite population growth in our listening area, but that growth has resulted mainly from people moving here after their retirement. We must make listeners of these new residents. We could switch to a music format tailored to their tastes, but a continuing decline in local sales of recorded music suggests limited interest in music. Instead we should change to a news and talk format, a form of radio that is increasingly popular in our area."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In the prompt, the manager of WWAC radio station suggests that in order to increase the number of listeners to his/her radio station, they must transition from the current rock-music format to a news and talk format. This may be the case, however, the conclusion is based on some unwarranted assumptions which if not substantiated may lead to greater loss. To fully evaluate the problem, below three assumptions should be justified with suitable evidence.

Firstly, the manager states that the population in the listening area is increasing mainly with retired people and that they should focus more on the new residents and make changes according to their taste. However, it is possible that upon changing the current format to their interest the existing listeners decreases even more. Perhaps, the existing listeners still like the rock music format and on changing it might severely impact the radio station. Also, it is not stated if the new residents are greater or lesser in number to the existing residents. Perhaps, some of the new citizens may also like rock-music and that upon shifting from it would be discouraging. If any of the above scenarios is true, the argument does not hold water.

Further, the argument also assumes that the citizens have limited interest in music due to the decrease in local sales of recorded music. However, this may not be the case. It is possible that the music may not be of good quality or they may only have limited variations in music. Maybe, the elderly like the classics and the local shops have only jazz collections or maybe, no new collection is available for the younger generation. Thus, proper analysis is required in order to fully evaluate the conclusion. If either case is true, the manager’s claim is weakened.

Finally, the manager’s suggests that the news and talk format is famous in their area and that they should shift their focus to it instead of music in particular. However, even if the news and talks show is popular among the people, that does not conclude their dislikeness in music. Maybe, the main problem with the decrease in listeners is the timing of the radio broadcast or the monotonous nature of its genre. It is possible that the music is played during afternoon or midnight and that office employees or school-going children are unable to listen to it. It is also possible that playing only a single kind of music i.e. rock, the whole day is tedious and that the people might prefer different genres during different times of the day. Thus, if either of the claims are true then the manager’s argument is flawed.

Therefore, on properly scrutinizing the above argument, I conclude that the manager’s conclusion to shift their format from a rock-music genre to a news and talk show, in order to increase their listeners, lacks substantial evidence and is based on unwarranted assumptions. A proper analysis is required with compelling evidence to make a cogent decision.