The following appeared in the summary of a study on headaches suffered by the residents of Mentia.

"Salicylates are members of the same chemical family as aspirin, a medicine used to treat headaches. Although many foods are naturally rich in salicylates, for the past several decades, food-processing companies have also been adding salicylates to foods as preservatives. This rise in the commercial use of salicylates has been found to correlate with a steady decline in the average number of headaches reported by participants in our twenty-year study. Recently, food-processing companies have found that salicylates can also be used as flavor additives for foods. With this new use for salicylates, we can expect a continued steady decline in the number of headaches suffered by the average citizen of Mentia."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author has presented a case of the city of Mentia wherein with the help of a study conducted for a long period, decline in the number of headaches has been associated with a particular chemical Salicylates. The author mentions that as it belongs to the same chemical family as Aspirin which is proven to reduce headaches. Towards the end, a new dimension of using Salicylates as a flavor additive is explored and the author predicts this will further reduce number of headaches.

The author has made an assumption that Salicylates belonging to the same chemical family as Aspirin can definitely be used to cure headaches, which need not be necessarily true. Despite sharing similar chemical structure, there is a possibility that both these drugs produce different effects after interacting with the chemicals in our body. It can be possible that unlike Aspirin, Salicylates may not be helpful in treating headaches or even aggravate the situation. Thus, there must be some more supportive evidence to prove Salicylates can relieve a person from headaches.

Secondly, analysing the twenty-year study, there are quite a few things which need to be considered. The author has mentioned that many food items are naturally rich in Salicylates. So, most of the people are already consuming good amount of this chemical. Now if there has been a decline in the average number of headaches there can be other factors responsible for this. Twenty years is a sufficiently large period- people’s lifestyles may have changed for the good. The participants must have started practicing healthy sleeping patterns and job security must have improved reducing stress and improving the mental health of people in general.

Talking about the conclusion, too much of anything, however good that thing is, can have negative impacts. It can be possible that if given in a limited quantity, it can reduce the pain and overdose can increase it. There is also a possibility that it may show some other side effects or may not be good for a person’s health in the long run.

Thus, after evaluating different aspects of the argument we need more details and statistics regarding the situation at Mentia. A comprehensive study of both Aspirin and salicylates is essential before making this assumption. Thereafter, how the twenty year research was carried out and what kind of people were involved need to be accounted. We also need to look for other kinds of medical issues which can be a result of excess of Salicylates. The situation needs to be looked at all these perspectives before coming down to a conclusion.