It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Knowledge is the power from the very starting point of human society. In any society and country knowledge is the pre-requirement for the sustainable development such as, leadership buildup, scientific development, to shape a pragmatic human mind. The grain of knowledge is obtainable from either books reading or experiencing life phenomena is a matter of debate, some would like to agree books reading, others would be support only experiencing life. If anyone asked me to choose in between two options, I would obviously choose the later options because of the following two important reasons.

The main reason is that knowledge acquiring from life is more adaptable and plastic to learning. In our daily lives we are facing many odds as well as good experience. From these we decide what we should do and what we shouldn’t do. These things ultimately make us a pragmatic individual. For example, when I was reading in class nine, I have gone through a reading passage, named “How to learn a bicycle”. In this context a student has gone through two ways to learn the bicycle riding. One is explicit learning means learn through experience or physical effort and another is implicit learning means learning by following bookish guidelines. The student who follow the earlier attempt learning to ride on bicycle was more easily and fastly than the later student. Although the earlier student has gone through many real life attempts to learn by falling to the ground, sores his ankles etc. But finally he got success very fast. As you can see that learning by applying real life circumstances is more helpful to attain the desire goal than recalling only bookish knowledge.

Another reason is that learning by experiencing life is always productive for leadership development as well as great discovery in the arena of science and technology. The world is maintained by leader and technocrat, who are praised, followed by us because they promoted themselves in a position by experiencing real life scenarios rather than following prejudiced learning system that is limited in the book cover. For instance, the discovery of the theory of relativity by Einistein was possible only because he was contemplating himself in thinking the world daily lives, the planet system, the light and its embedded properties. Another discovery in technological development by Wright Brothers was possible because they were being fascinated by seeing or observing the flight of birds rather than learning from book. In the field of leadership development, the prime minister of India is Narendo Modhi who was in his earlier life selling tea and he has gone through a wide variety of experiences regarding human life infliction. These experience and examples taught me that following real life is the ultimate source of the ongoing world.

In sum, some would disagree by supporting learning only from book but in long run these learning will not be sustainable. Learning from our lives not only make us pragmatic but also it helps to pave way to build a great leader, scientist etc. Hence, experiencing our lives and our surroundings should be encouraged to learn the most effective way.