It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important and why?

Experience is one of the most essential factors obtained by humankind throughout life and transferred to the upcoming generations. It is evident, that sources of knowledge are abundant. Two of them stand out: books and experience. Yes, these old true friends of ours. But, how far is the impact of each of them on a person`s life, and, whether, if contrasted, one of them prevails the other?

Both books and experience supply us with the bulk of knowledge to help to perceive the world around us and not to grope in this sable universe in the search of our true calling. It goes without saying, the role of books is undeniable in this path, beset with trials. They inform, teach us how to behave in various life situation based on the examples of true or imaginary characters. But, how appropriate the situations they go through, the sufferings they live, the setting created in to our life? Let`s confess, most of us haven’t come across even with the inconsequential part of events, situations they read in books. So, when reading them we are mainly guided with the purpose of entertaining ourselves rather than drawing ready solutions for routine problems. Actually, most books we are engaged in reading are pie in the sky: they distort reality, presenting deceitful picture of life and serve more to misinterpret it rather than show objective reality. So, the question comes up. What can we draw from such books? The answer is: nothing aside from amusement and pastime.

In contrast, knowledge gained by personal experience is second to none when defining life priorities. Studies have proved that this sort of knacks have long-lasting impact on a human being, as they affect deep his gut; he is not a mere observer but a doer or a bearer. And, what we procure is sagacity, wisdom through firsthand experience. When coming across tricky situations in life, we attempt to adjust the best models of behaviour or reactions which will prove to be to the purpose . Depending on the choice, we face the results. You can care to name any outcomes: deplorable or successful ones. It doesn`t matter. The most crucial facet is that you have gone through it, you are an active participant of this process and this way you have obtained valuable experience which is, against all odds, the most vital acquisition. There is such a saying,” What doesn`t kill you makes you stronger.” So, I do quite agree with it. You have experienced something. Let it be failure, but you have grown, you have learnt that life is full of pitfalls and one day you can be at the bottom of the trough , another day the sky is not the limit for you.

Another critical point that creates a huge gap between two types of knowledge gained is the nature of both of them. The characters in books are mainly unreal or of super human qualities. The setting and plot leave much to be desired. Where are the vital examples of behavior patterns which are to be drawn and followed? Most of the fiction lacks them. Most of the non fiction doesn`t show appropriate ones? The books don`t respond to the multidimensial situations we face and challenge with in real life, and, thus, don’t supply as with abundant knowledge how to deal and survive in the complexity of modern world

On the other hand, experience, only experience acquired through necessity and duress is the best associate in overcoming barriers and when facing the challenges. Living something up means getting acquainted with the versatile structure of life problems. Surviving diverse situations, coming across different life patterns form sustainability in a person, making him resilient and flexible. So, we can rest assured that most of the information we read in books we will not face in real life, whereas most of the routine problems and their solutions are not reflected in books or, even if done, in a twisted way. So, where to turn to? Only rely on experience.

The last, but not the least pivotal factor is the psychological and emotional impact. Books are mainly targeted on spurring emotions and, thus, manipulating readers. But, a question arises. Why do I need to care about a character that is artificial, a fake one? Why do I need to stretch my emotions to the utmost for a case that is far from reality? Another factor, which is not of the least importance, concern ghastly sensitive people. Who hasn`t come across people highly strung or over impressed by a book read? No matter, how much the surrounding tries to relieve their pain by throwing their caps over the mill. Nothing works until a person realizes that it is just an object of someone`s fancy, freak, and doesn`t deserve so much of care and attention. Somehow we can call it “waste of emotional resources”.

Meanwhile, life experiences do not easily flee, without leaving traces, based on real facts and situations. We may suffer from psychological unease, get emotional shock. All this things are unavoidable if we want to grow, not only physically, but also morally and mentally, ceasing taking life through pink glasses. So, through this emotional experience, you learn genuine life lessons that you can benefit from in the future. How it is said, “Forget what hurt you, but never forget what it taught you”.

To conclude with, you can`t truly understand something until it happens to you. The meaning of life is discovered in the experience. Experience is what you get when you don`t get what you want. Life is a journey with problems to solve, lessons to learn, but, most of all, the experience to enjoy. So, let`s relish the knowledge gained from experience in order to realize the true lease of life.