It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books.” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important and why?

Needless to say, all human beings are like students in all steps of their lives and they learn many useful aspects of life either in school classes or in the streets, however, it has long since been a matter of debates whether learning through books and in school is more significant or learning through feeling and experience. Insofar as I am concerned, the knowledge which is obtained in the light of experiences is more functional than the knowledge gained by reading books. I feel this way for two reasons which I will explain in the following essay.

The first and the most prominent reason that comes to my mind is that the skills which learned through experience never will be forgotten. An incident whether painful or joyful always remind in mind and teaches many things to us; if it had a good result, we try to repeat that again, and if it was a bad feeling, we evade from feel that again. For example, my brother got his driving license three years ago. He has not a car, so he has not driven much. Last year, I gave my car to him and wanted him to take me to my job; when he reached to a square he did not stop because he had forgotten that each car that reaches to the square must stop and when the square is vacant it can go into the square. We had a bad accident owing to my brother's mistake, however, after that event, my brother learned how to enter a square. As a result, you may forget a driving rule that you have read in the textbook but you never forget a car crash that you experienced it.

Secondly, experiences are more tangible than books. Never can anyone ever cast a shadow of doubt on the importance of the utilizing knowledge and using them in the real life. Of course, of those sundries of manners which we read in the books, we learn the ones that we sense their influence on our lives and we feel them both emotionally and physically. For instance, I studied civil engineering at the university. We had a lot of theoretical lessons which comprised many mathematical rules and equations. Although we learned all those rules and lessons, they could not convey the sense of being an engineer to us until our laboratory lessons started and we started to use our knowledge in real conditions. We were struggling with combining materials to make a durable and strong concrete and we were trying to utilize all we have learned in the books and this was a really good experience. Consequently, of course, knowledge which we learn in the books are crucial, but they are a preconception to use them in the real situations.

To put in the nutshell, I have personally subscribed to the view that the skills which we learn by feeling are more essential than the knowledge we learn with books. Experiences are not only stored in the memory for many years but also they are more practical and tangible. It is about time universities and schools provided more laboratories and compelled students to learn through books and experiences simultaneously.