TOEFL essay How do movies or television influence people s behavior Use reasons and specific examples to support your answer

Needless to say, films and television sets, the souvenir of the twentieth century, are one of the most significant innovations of the last decades. However, it has long since been a matter of hot debates whether this novelty has a positive impression on our behavior or a negative effect, and by the same token, how it affects our lives? In my opinion television and films have a benign influence on human beings' behavior. I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explain in this essay.

The first an the most prominent reason that comes to my mind is that sports programs motivate people toward sports. On the other hand, a person who is a fan of a specific sport know the athletes which are involved in that sport and try to behave like them. For example, my brother is a fan of football games. He not only supports his favorite team by going to the stadium in all home matches but also he watches all the matches on the television. When I was a child I never liked football matches until my brother convinced me to watch a competition on the television. Although I did not know the players and the rules of the game, I enjoyed that match. After that day, I always followed the games of that team which I have watched its match. This stimulated me to be a football player, as a result, I started to do training and I am a football player at this time. All in all, in the light of watching just one football match, I have been motivated to act like an athlete and to start being involved in sports.

Secondly, television programs, especially films, are one of the best selections for free times. In the other words, after a tough day, people lessen their stress and behaves less violently by refreshing their morale by watching television programs. For instance, my father works for an organization as an employee. His work is really tough and he works twelve hours a day. When he arrives home, he is exhausted and does not speak to anyone, however, his first and the best option for increasing his soul is watching a film. He is a fan of comedy movies and laughs a lot while watching television. After a couple of minutes, he revives his spirits and starts to speak with us and telling jokes. Consequently, a few minutes in front of the television are like a curative drug for my father and refreshes his mind so as a result, he acts more kindly.

To put in the nutshell, I have personally subscribed to the view that television and films affect our lives and especially they have a positive influence by refreshing the tired brains and familiarize people by sports and athletes. It is the high time program producers spent much efforts to make their products much useful with informative contents.