It has recently been announced that a new movie theater may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose with it?

One of the important places in our lives is the neighborhood we live in. We spend most of our time there and we communicate with other residents. It is true that if a movie -theater were going to be built in my neighborhood, some residents agree with that but others not. In my view, a movie theater has a negative influence in my neighborhood for two reasons.

First, there are better uses of the land that will improve our city. A movie theater needs a huge land and it makes lots of pollution like air pollution that the people want to park their vehicles. In the big cities, we do not have many outdoor spaces such as parks, gardens, and lakes. So, these outdoor spaces can not only make the better atmosphere in a city but also decrease the pollution of the air. For example, My cousin lives in Tehran, In her street, Taleghani street, there was a ruined building and the government decided to make a park instead of that because the residents requested the government to build a park near their home. They needed a place for playing the children, walking, and exercising. After the destruction of the house, it took a year to establish a park but in this time children were going to help street cleaner to paint playground equipment and also the children painted what they want on the wall. The painting was an interesting activity for them because they learn how they could work together. After a year, residents usually went to the park at the holiday and they planting some flowers there; these trees made oxygen and used dioxid carbon. As you can see, This park has changed the view of the street and also it will lead to decrease the population.

Second, the movie theater makes a lot of traffic. People who want to visit a movie go to the theater with their vehicles or take a taxi. Increasing the number of the cars leads to increase the traffic of the major streets of the city and it makes the major problem for the residents that live near the movie theater. For instance, I found a work in Shiraz and I rent a small apartment in a suburbs, Fasa city, for two years. Normally, I took me half an hour to get to work. A movie theater was going to build in our neighborhood in an open land that was near our street. As the theater was being constructed, the main street sometimes blocked because of the building constructing. Hence, I had to go to another direction to the work and it took half an hour more. After its construction, the traffic on our neighborhood had increased rapidly because more people were coming to visit movies and the residents usually had a problem with the traffic that the theater made because of the people want to park their cars. So they asked the city to do something. After two months, the government made a parking in order to solve the traffic. Therefore, the theater can make lots of problems if the city does not have a well decision.

To summarize, though some may support the plan, a new theater would not be a great addition to my hometown. Not only does it increase the pollution but also it makes a lot of traffic. Every city should consider all of the aspects of the new building not only for residents but also for the environments.