It has recently been announced that a new movie theater may be built in your neighborhood. Do you support or oppose this plan? Why? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

As part of a initiative by the new government to ensure speedy development and tackling issues hindering the welfare of the residents in my city, a proposal has been made to set a 3 screen, multiplex movie theater in the 4 acres of land bounded by market on two sides and by housing colonies (which is currently denizen to around 500 families including mine’s) on the other two sided. Some residents have welcomed this move by the government as it will ensure easy and frequent access to entertainment without traffic hassles, but in reality, this proposal has its own shortcomings and might lead to future troubles for residents.

With the advent of the new movie theater, foot movements and traffic would increase in the neighboring area. This will become a source of headache for residents and the current police infrastructure in this area is also insufficient to manage the increase in the traffic, vehicles, crime etc. (which will increase when the theater becomes functional).

The construction of new theater will also disturb the sanitation levels and equanimity which normally prevail in this area. There will be an unprecedented rise in air and noise pollution the surrounding residential areas. In absence of proper checks and poor environmental regulations, situation is likely to exacerbate in future.

Also, space where movie theater will be constructed, was earlier allotted for construction of park by the residents . This also had the verbal consent of deputy mayor and the reservation of these 4 acres of land for constructing the largest park in the state was hailed by everyone. This move was pronounced with an objective of reducing pollution, providing space for yoga and physical activities, providing space for recreational activities of children, for starting a club within the boundaries of park to promote social intermingling among residents. Construction of movie theater is going to deprive people from getting advantages of the park.

To conclude, the construction of movie theater might provide a practical an easy source of entertainment to the residents, but the space allocated for it is going to pose problems for the people living in the vicinity of that theater. As a result, majority of the residents in the neighboring areas are against this idea of construction.