It is more important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation

Nowadays, it is commonly accepted that fast and easy movement, especially in big and populous cities, became a big problem. Most people believe that improving public transportation would be the best solution to this problem. Therefore, I, to a great extent disagree with this idea that it is important for governments to spend money to improve Internet access than to improve public transportation.

First and foremost, public transportation is a city infrastructure which influenced the living condition of more proportion of the population. For example, factory workers who have formed high per cent of each society, would not highly benefit from better Internet access. However, more appropriate transportation facilities could provide more welfare for them. Attention to this dominant portion of society is important because they pay an equal amount of taxes and tolls similar to people in upper-level jobs. So, it would be fairer to spend money on public transportation.

Another significant fact that should be taken into consideration is that today the problem of traffic and air pollution is a very serious issue in big cities. All people in society suffer equally from it. Nonetheless, until now city managers could not find a better and more effective solution for this concern than increasing and improving public transportation. When people have had access to an accessible, low cost and comfortable transporting facilities, they become more willing to use them. In this way, we will have fewer cars on highways and lesser air pollution.

Finally, yet importantly, some people believe that improving Internet access would create a lot of related jobs which can give proper economical progress and happiness for people. Contrary to this view, it is clear that investment in public transportation can also create several job opportunities, especially for construction and high-tech companies. In addition, we must not ignore the threaten of air pollution for human health and its harmful environmental effects.

On the basis of the reasons that were mentioned above, I am convinced that governments should spend more money on improving public transportation than Internet access. Because of the threatening of air pollution, and providing a better living condition for all people in the country.