It is more important to keep old friends than it is to make new friends.

Friendship is one of the most beautiful relationships in the world. A good friend is a treasure in one's life. People start to make friends from their school life. And as the time flies, they meet new people in colleges or universities and make new friends. Though it is important to make new friends when you go to a new place but it is always important to keep your old friends closer.

First of all, in most of the cases old friends are the school or childhood friends in a person's life. They know us from the very beginning of our lives. They become our friends when we do not make friendship for purpose. We just become friends from the deep of our heart. But when we grow up and makes friends, we know that we need them for help and to survive. For instance, when I was in college, I did not have any of my old friends in the same college. I saw everyone was busy with themeselves. Everyone was self-centered. I started to makes friends when a professor gave a group project and we had to work together. We became close because we needed one another's help. Therefore, old friends are selfless. The friendship with old freinds is pure.

Secondly, old friends understand our feelings, behavior, attitude, likes-dislikes so well that no one else can do. As they know from the very begining of our life, they know our good and bad sites. They do not judge us as any other person does. Therefore, we are more free and open to our old friends than to new friends. That is one another reason to keep our old friends around us.

Thirdly, Old friends are always ready to support you and sacrifice anything for the good of your sake. It characteristics is rare in a new friend.

I had an real example of this sitation in my life. During my college life I was having some financial problems. So I asked help from one of my college friend but she was hesitating to help me. But when I asked one of my old friends, she sid not think twice and was ready to help me.

For all those given reasons above, I prefer to keep my old friends rather than making new friends.