Woven baskets characterized by a particular distinctive pattern have previously been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea and therefore were believed to have been made only by the Palean people. Recently, however, archa

The author argued about the woven baskets which previously were found in a village named Palea but he made a very strong conclusion about those basket's originate with some very unrelated evidences. The author's claim about the Brim river and boats do not strengthen the fact about woven basket. More evidences are needed to evaluate the original inventor of the woven basket.

Firstly, the author cited that, woven baskets have been found only in the immediate vicinity of the prehistoric village of Palea. Therefore, it was believed that Palean people made those baskets. This statement contradicts with the conclusion the author has made. If the baskets were only found in Palea village, it is obvious that the palean people made those baskets.

Secondly, there is no mention about what and how the woven basket is made of. The author did not mention the fundamental materials by which the woven baskets are made of. Such evidence is needed to evaluate whether those material were available in Palea village or Lithos village.It is a general fact that, people makes things by those materials which are available and abundant around them. As it is not mentioned whether the materials were available in Palea or Lithos village , it is hard to evaluate the fact that which village people made those baskets.

Another evidence that is needed to support the argument is the main profession of the people of those two villages. The author did not mention about the villagers profession, therefore it is difficult to find out which villagers actually made the woven baskets.

Lastly, the author’s claim about the Brim river and Palean boat do not have any relation with the woven basket. The author first said that woven baskets were found in Palea village. But by the next sentence he//she proposed that woven baskets were found in an ancient village called Lithos which was situated across the Brim River from the Palea village. The author cited that as the Palean people do not have any boats and the river is too deep to cross without a boat, the woven baskets were not uniquely made by the Palean people. But the statement does not support the argument in any way. It could be possible that if Lithos people had boats, they crossed the river and came to Palea village to buy the woven basket. The evidence can be said in the other way round, which is, Lithos people went to Palea village to sell the baskets. But there is no such evidence about the Lithos village as well.

The argument lacks of quite a number of evidences which could have strengthen the fact that Palean people invented the woven basket. The evidence of materials, where those materials were available, who were the supplier and who were the buyers-these could have helped to find the original founder of woven basket. The argument is incomplete for which the conclusion cannot be stated as proven.