The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company.

"According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

The argument that Super Screen should allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising is not logically convincing since it ignores certain important assumptions.

Firstly, the argument describes how the Super Screen movies reviewed well. But it does not tell us the total number of reviewers who made the review for the movies. There might be a negligible number of reviewers reviewed the movies. That's why the people did not take it seriously. The argument might have strengthened if it mentioned the huge number of positive review of the movies.

Secondly, the argument omits the economic fact of that particular year. The economic condition of the year might have been worse. That's why many people were not in the position to afford the expenses for going out and watching movies. A person will not go for watching movies if he or she is in a bad financial position. The argument would have strengthened if it described the economic condition of that year as a good one.

Finally, the argument does not tell us about the movies of other production. Those movies could have a strong impact on the people and maybe those movies review was on the high note. The argument might have strengthened if it described the situation of the movies of other production as not good.

Therefore, the argument is not logically convincing. It does not meet the points to call it a valid argument.