It is more important to keep old friends than to make new friends

Whereas some people believe that it is important to make new friends, I believe that it is more important to maintain your old friendship. Personally, I feel this way for two main reasons which I will explain in the following passage.

First, old friends know you much better than your new friends. It takes time and effort to have a strong bond with anyone, and with our old friend, we have given both. With time, our connection with old friends increases. For example, our bonding will be much better with our school friends than with the friend we make during our working days. Even though people we meet will have the same maturity level, we develop that maturity together with our classmates. In addition, people in our work are more competitive than people we have met during our childhood. In our childhood, we had not entered the real world, so the friendship was also pure at times with no competition in between, and with time we grow together by understanding each other strengths and weaknesses. Thus, childhood friendship is important to me.

Secondly, we can ask for help from our old friends whenever we are in need. We can also trust them to share our secrets. As our childhood or old friend knows us for a long time, we automatically create a bond that feels like a family in the end. Even we do not hesitate to ask for help. However, if we think to ask for help from our new friend, we will definitely hesitate and feel awkward taking help even though our new friend may not feel anything. It is human nature that we do not feel comfortable sharing our though with people until we get close to them. In my personal experience, whenever I feel low or upset, I contact my school friends as they know me very well so their suggestions also depend upon my behavior which they know about me very well. But, if I choose to share the same with my colleague, I will be a little conscious to share it openly.

In conclusion, I would like to say that it is important to keep in contact with your old friends because they know you much better than your new friends. This does not mean that we should not try to make new connections, but when it comes to be with someone at times of difficulty, we are more comfortable with our childhood friends and if time and situation allow, your new relationship with a person will definitely become an old relation one day.