It is more important to keep your old friends than it is to make new friends. Do you agree?

It is claimed that keeping friendship is more valuable than making new acquaintances, and it is assumed that people you have been in relationships with for some time are more reliable and closer to relatives. Although keeping "a good climate" in established connections is highly valuable, I dare say that networking with unknown people is equally important.

Undoubtedly, staying in touch with old friends is of great value. Already established connections are much more reliable in challenging situations because their behavior is usually much easier to predict. To be specific, doing business with childhood friends is quicker than with strangers due to a lack of trust between and among partners. However, old friendships are not guaranteed, and the “wind of change” may come when your friend-partner may betray you and leave the firm.

Nonetheless, people's interests usually dramatically change through life and may move far from those of friends. At that time, people make new connections and develop their relationships with other people. Indeed, this concept may happen in every aspect of life, beginning from work and continuing to sports or hobbies. Since 2020 a friend of mine has been doing triathlon, making several new connections with other sportsmen from the running club where he has been training so far. While their friendship has been expanding, they have created several business projects conjugated with sports and made much money. Could he imagine that doing sports would dramatically change his life in aspects of life other than physical form and begin a new chapter in his life?

Equally important, new connections may foster career development in a business environment. For example, my neighbour Boris got stuck with a generation of ideas at a work project and asked his more experienced colleague for help. He then discovered that his colleague usually visited the same jazz club in Moscow. This knowledge laid the foundation for their relationship and further long-hour talks about music, art, and jazz improvisation. Eventually, Boris grew as a professional in his firm and got a promotion to Director not only because of his jazz-related interests but also because of a new friend at work.

All in all, making new friends and staying with old ones has both positive and negative effects. While old connections may betray at some time, new friendship could create immersive opportunities and gradually change one's life. I firmly believe that making new friends is obviously positive and may boost personal growth and develop one’s character.