It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Everyone has their own opinion about friendship. In my opinion, we must keep our old friends and at the same time, make new friends. I feel this way for two important reasons which I will discuss in the following essay.

First of all, every friend is important. In our life, we come across various difficult situations and we often take help from people we know to cope with them. So, we never know who would help us when we need it the most. As the saying goes, a friend in need is a friend indeed. So, it is always good to have a big circle of friends. Moreover, there is no harm in making new friends. It is always fun to spend time with our friends and they are always there to support us no matter what. I believe that it is a boon to have many good friends.

Secondly, when I meet new people, I enjoy talking to them and knowing more about them. That is how friendship gradually develops between us. When we are extremely comfortable with each other, we become old friends. So, the first step to have a good friend is to try making new friends. We will not have any friends if we do not meet new people. In other words, I have my old friends now only because I decided to talk to them years ago. Moreover, meeting new people and interacting with them puts me out of my comfort zone. Hence, I feel that it is necessary to make new friends.

In summary, although old friends know us better, and will always be there for us, there is nothing wrong in making new friends. In fact, new friends can also be as close as our old friends. Hence, we must always be open to making new friends, while keeping our old friends.