It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Some might say it is important to make new friends rather than holding on to the old friends you have as they might say new friends provide you more company and have more social interactions. However, i strongly think that we should hold onto the old friends rather than making more new friends. I believe so because of the following reason.

Firstly, the quality of friendship that you have with the old friends is much higher than that you will have with the new friends. Old friends they have known you for very long period of time and they know your character and your perks. They know what you have been through life and have experienced a lot of things together with you. For example, i personally have few old friends but the bond we share is just of another level. There is no hesitancy between us as i know them and they know me from the atom. They accept me as i am and don't need to be a different person just to be with them. I had this new friend i met in my class and we became friends but the thing with him was i couldn't be myself in front of him. Thus, for me, it is the quality of friends that is necessary rather than the quality of new friends.

Secondly, old friends are more reliable than the newly made friends. They will help you even in the condition is very difficult for them. For example,recently i've had an incident when my bike tires went flat and i was very late for the job interview. So, i contacted many new friends because they were near from that area. But every one of them made an excuse for not helping me and then i called one of my old friend who was at his job but despite being very busy, knowing that i had this important interview he called off from work and came as soon as possible even he was far away. That day, i realized the old friends are the one you should trust and you can always rely on, i am grateful to have such quality old friend who help me in the time of need.

In conclusion, choosing between keeping the old friends and making new friends is a complex task as old friends might not be present for you at all the times because of the change in the life. However, i still contend that keeping old friends is far more important than making new friends as they are the one whom i can always rely on without any hesitation and i know that my old friends think the same way.