It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Friends are an important influence on our life. They play a huge role in our personal and social development. The group of friends one keeps, is a direct representation of one's own character. Some people agree that it is more important to keep old friends than to make new friends. Other disagree. In my opinion, keeping our old mates is more important than making new ones for following reasons.

First, we are already acquainted with the behavior and habits of our old friends and being accustomed to the new ones at the same level can be a bit difficult. We need to start a completely new chapter with our new friends and this may be troublesome for some of us. MY own personal experience provides a compelling evidence. During the beginning days of my university, I met a lot of new peoples but still I choose to stick with my old friends, who had also joined with me. I tried to make new friends, but to do so, I had to find additional gaps in my hectic schedule. Moreover, I have always been an introvert and no matter how hard I tried I could never be habitual to the behavior of my new mates. This experience taught me that it was more important and easy to keep the old ones rather than making new friends.

Second, our old friends can easily help us in our time of need. Being a long time friend with anyone has the implicit merit of gaining their trust and empathy and they are readily available to assist us in any task. For instance, a while back, I was fired my job. Having no source of income and bills to pay to my college, put me in a huge financial crisis. In such a dire situation, my old friends were the first to offer help. One of them loaned me some cash to help me keep on attending college while I was looking for a new job. Others provided me emotional support and even offered to live with them. Although, I had many new friends at that time, but still, my old friends were the first to reach out because they knew my past, they knew that I was a trustworthy and a good person. They were sure that I would have done the same for them. It is not that my new friends were not helpful or rude but it was just that they didn't knew me for long, in order to trust me blind folded. So, by this life experience, we can easily see the greater importance of old friends in our life.

In sum, old friends hold a much greater value than new ones in our life. Not only are we more habitual to their company but also they are more trustworthy and helpful for us. We should all realize this and not make the mistake of ignoring and abandoning our old mates for the sake of new ones