It is more important to keep your old friends than to make new friends.

Our friends are a very important part of our life. They are always by our side when we need them and some matters can only be shared with friends. Without friends, life would not be as interesting and colorful. While some people think that it is important to only keep their old friends, other people believe it is much more important to make new friends. Though both old and new friends are valuable, in my view making new friends is more important for two crucial reasons.

First, as our life and surrounding is constantly changing and we are meeting new people every day, we should make new friend to keep up with it. We do not live in a single place forever. We also do not work in the same organization or study in the same institution throughout our life. So, as our environment changes we need to make new friend in the new scenario. For example, after I completed my high school I moved from my hometown to a city named Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, to get admitted in college. Before going there all my friends were from my hometown. We spent our times together by hanging out, playing and visiting different places. But as I moved out of my hometown, these activities were not possible with my old friends. So I made new friends at Dhaka who had similar interests like me. We watched movie, talked about sports, worked on projects and helped each other with study in college. If I didn't make new friends after coming to Dhaka, life would be miserable for me. This experinece taught me the importance of making new friends.

Second, new friends and networking with new people help us to improve and grow our capabilities. If we are always busy with old friend and do not make new ones our perspective will be narrow. We will not be able to broaden our mental horizon and learn more about the diversity of our society. For instance, after graduating I joined an company as an engineer. I meet people who are different from my friends. They were more experienced and matured, travelled a lot around the world and had a different view of life from my friends. As I continued to work with them I made friendship with some of my colleagues. I learned a lot from their experience. One of my friend was an expatriate from UK. From him, I learned about the culture, society, food and life of abroad. We also shared our view on different matters like football, politics, government policies and new technological advances. We both benefitted from our friendship. These were not possible if I hadn't made new friends at new place.

To sum, making new friends is very important because our environment is constantly changing and they help us to learn more and grow. So, we all should focus more to make new friends in our lives in conjuction with keeping old friends.