It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

Some people believe that it is more important to pay attention to factual information others think that it is more important to learn concepts and ideas. I completely agree with the statement that it is more important for students to focus on concepts than to learn facts. I feel this way for two reasons which I will examine in this essay.

First of all, understanding basic fundamentals helps students to get a clear picture of what they have been studying. Obviously, if a student gets a good hand over the concepts of a subject he has a high chance to master it. As a result, learning fundamental ideas helps them to achieve good grades in their exams. This is best demonstrated by my personal example. When I was studying in my college, I focused more on the facts stated in the chemistry book and neglected much of the concepts. Consequently, this affected my ability to secure good grades in the unit test exam. Due to this, I decided to shift my focus more on the conceptual side of the subject which would help me to understand it from the basics. It looked like a difficult task to fulfill, but as I got a good knowledge about the topics I became more confident to answer questions. As a result, I received great grades in my end-semester examination. I am sure that if I had not decided to learn ideas and concepts I would not have been able to achieve such great scores.

Second, learning ideas helps students to improve their imaginative side and become more creative than those students who only are interested in factual information. Evidently, it is seen that students who are more creative rely on the conceptual part they know as it proves as a reliable source. Whereas students who excel with facts just know the facts and if questioned about any concepts they may not be able to provide answers. For instance, when I took Environmental studies as an elective in my college, in one of the lectures the teacher asked about eutrophication. One of my classmates stated the facts he read and tried to give the answer but as the professor asked about what the term means he was not able to answer as his concepts were not clear. Hence, it is clear that knowing facts is a good thing and can be more effective if you have a thorough understanding of concepts.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that it is more significant to have a better understanding of concepts than of facts. This is because the students get a better idea of which they can implement and because it helps to improve their creative side.