It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Ideas and Concepts are the base foundation of a field and should be the priority for instigating the sense of progress in the students. The prompt recommends, It is important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts. In my opinion, I completely agree with the prompt. Students should be more focused on ideas and concepts than learning facts.

Firstly, understanding ideas and concept subsumes and learning facts are not contrary to each other. In fact, to understand ideas and concepts a students should know the facts. There are certain question that no one could answer in this world. The answer to this questions are sometimes at the base of the fields. In order to have an understanding about the big idea we have to assume or consider something as true. Take, quantum mechanics for instance. No one knows if there is something called as wave function at the subatomic level because no one has observed it, ever. Yet, the field of quantum mechanics and quantum computing are flourishing that based on this fact. So, it is important to know concepts and ideas but facts also come along with these.

Secondly, ideas and concept are important because they are the ones being manipulated, interpolated or extrapolated to give us new technologies and progress. If a student only knows facts, it is nearly impossible to create new things with the fact only. Facts are the facts because they can not be altered or changed. This creates a situation of moribund. For instance, we know that if anything is released from a height above the ground then it would come down to earth. This is the fact we know but we cannot do any useful thing with it unless we have a basic understanding of concepts which make this phenomenon happen. Thus, ideas and concepts are important for progress.

In conclusion, there may be the cases in which one argues that facts are important. But it should be noted that facts are important but ideas and concepts are more important for a students because facts can be learned at any point of life, while ideas and concepts cannot be. Thus, it is of utmost importance that students pay more attention to concepts and ideas rather than facts.