An ailing patient should have easy access to his or her doctor’s record of treating similarly afflicted patients. Through gaining such access, the ailing patient may better determine whether the doctor is competent to treat that medical condition.

In modern society, Doctor's are of utmost importance like the immune system is in our body. The prompt recommends, A patient should have access to his or her doctor's record of treating previous cases of the same disease or ailment. In my opinion, I loosely agree with the prompt.

In some cases, there is a possiblity that patient shouldn't be allowed to view the doctor's history about a certain disease. For instance, take the example of Doctor's who have just completed their medschool and are now eligible and experience (under some senior doctor) for operating on a patient. Although, they have more than what is required for the job, a patient who is about to be treated will have no confidence in the doctor. Why? because there is no previous record of him operating independtly on a patient. In this case patient will never agree to treat himself or herself with that doctor eventhough he (doctor) is a trained professional.

On the contrary, a patient who has access to the doctor's previous history will be more calm and confident about the treatment. For instance, there is a case published in medical journal which shows patient given inert injection by an eminent doctor resulted in more relief in pain than who were given painkiller injections by nurse or amateur doctor's. The previous example shows how knowledge to doctor's background can alleviate the patients condition.

Furthermore, it is the patient's right to know if they are treated by the right person or not. Although, they would not have any medical understanding of the intricate treatments given by the doctor but they can judge by the end result of the treatment. After all they are the one spending their resources and trusting their life to get the best treatment possible.

In conclusion, there are cases and times when it is not possible or feasible to show the doctor's history of treatment in that particular disease. But it is best if patient have access to these records because they are the one's who are most affected by this decision and thus they should be the one with options to choose.