Argument Topic: "The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the memo, director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company recommends, more budget should be allocated for advertisements as public lacks awareness that good quality movies are available. This conclusion is based on the fact that besides fewer people attending the movie, the reviews of these movies are positive. This statement as it stands now contains many holes and needs to answer three main questions.

Firstly, does positive feedback from a small number of people represents the response of all the people in that area? It is stated in the memo, that fewer people attended the movie but gave positive respone. It can be the case, those people are huge fan of that genre of movie. It can also be the case, the movie does not attract vast majority of people. In any scenario, to be sure of the public opinion there is a review of a large number of people. If author fails to answer this question then it makes the argument weak.

Secondly, does the past year can be compared with the present scenario? It is stated that compared to previous year, the fewer people attended the movies in the present year. It is possible, people who contributed to the majority of movie viewers are migrating to different town. It can also be the case, a pandemic is going on this year as a result people are afraid to get out of there homes and prefer to watch movies from the comfort of their homes. It very premature to decide the reason of lower views is the people's lack of awareness and thus requires author to answer this question. If author fails to address this query, then it makes the argument weaker.

Thirdly, does allocating extra funds to advertisment will surely increase the viewership. It can be the case, the movie is not interesting enough as majority of people like action movies nowadays. Thus spending too much funds on the advertisements will not aggregate the viewers to watch the dull and boring movies. The author needs to address this qustion. If author fails to address this question then it makes the argument weakest.

In conclusion, argument of the director as it stands now is flawed and full of loop holes. Thus, it requires three main question to be answered in order to make the author's position strong. If author fails to answer these question, then it makes the argument invalid.