Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. Others believe that teaching a foundation of logical reasoning would do more to produce a moral society.

Moral values of a person are like a guiding compass when no logic is sound. According to the prompt, Some people believe that teaching morality should be the foundation of education. In my opinion, I completely agree with the statement. It is quite essential that education of moral values should be the first priority of education.

Firstly, when it comes to moral values, time is of the essence. A child has a great impact on personality when subjected to moral education compared to a person who is older. For instance, A study conducted by the University of Edinburg observed that moral education taught at an age between 5-10 caused a significant change in the personality of the child who also developed several precocious emotions like empathy, guilt, etc. The same study also found that when adults (aged 18-30) were given lessons for morals they treat it like a turgid speech. The previous example shows that age can be a significant differentiator when it comes to moral education.

Secondly, moral values are essential for a person as they prevent us from doing bad, and unfair things to other people. Take a thief for instance. A thief is a person who is knowingly stealing stuff from other people. It may be the case that he is facing a financial problem but if he was taught what to do and what not to from a moral and ethical standpoint. Then He should not have done that.

In conclusion, there may have been a case when a person was not taught morality but has developed it later on. However, these cases rarely occur. Thus the best possible course of action is to teach people morality first because logic can be developed at any point of life but moral and ethical values can't.