In order to reverse the recent decline in our profits, we must reduce operating expenses at Movies Galore’s ten video rental stores. Since we are famous for our special bargains, raising our rental prices is not a viable way to improve profits. Last month our store in downtown Marston significantly decreased its operating expenses by closing at 6:00 P.M. rather than 9:00 P.M. and by reducing its stock by eliminating all movies released more than five years ago. Therefore, in order to increase profits without jeopardizing our reputation for offering great movies at low prices, we recommend implementing similar changes in our other nine Movies Galore stores.

In a memorandum, the owner of Movies Galore rental stores concludes that in order to increase profits, they must reduce operating expenses by eliminating movies released before five years ago and closing the store early. This conclusion is based on the fact that downtown Marston store of that chain has also reduced the expenses by implementing similar changes. The stated argument is full of flaws and requires three questions to be answered before considering it as veracious.

Firstly, what is the relation between store’s expenses and profits? In the argument there is no relation is given to imply that by reducing the expenses, the profits will rise commensurately. It can be the case, that reducing expenses will lead to poor service which in turn will lead to further decrease in sales and ultimately leading to more loss. Thus, this question need to be answered which clearly states whether expense is directly proportional to or inversly proportional to profit.

Secondly, are condition in all ten stores the same? It is stated that downtown Marston store has reduced its expenses by closing at 6:00 PM. It can be the case that some stores are in city center, which requires stores to be closed at midnight as huge customers go for shopping after their jobs. Also, it can be the case that some stores are located in countryside so increase or decreasing store time will not help at all.

Thirdly, do customers like new movies? It is mentioned in the memo that by eliminating all the movies which released before five years ago will increase profit. It can be the case, that stores are located in a locality where there are only elderly people who prefer classic movies. In this case getting rid of those movies will surely not help at all.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is full flawed and required some questions to be answered before it can be taken seriously. If author fails to answer those question then the argument becomes invalid for this case.