Twenty years ago, Dr. Field, a noted anthropologist, visited the island of Tertia and concluded from his observations that children in Tertia were reared by an entire village rather than by their own biological parents. However, my recent interviews with children living in the group of islands that includes Tertia show that these children spend much more time talking about their biological parents than about other adults in the village. This research of mine proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about Tertian village culture is invalid and thus that the observation-centered approach to studying cultures is invalid as well. The interview-centered method that my team of graduate students is currently using in Tertia will establish a much more accurate understanding of child-rearing traditions there and in other island cultures.

The Conclusion stated by Dr. Karp that the observation centred approach is invalid in studying cultures is based on the evidence that Dr. Karp's research proves that Dr. Field's conclusion about tertian culture is invalid. The author's argument is flawed and can not be evaluated unless some evidence is given to support or oppose the theory. This essay analyzes three pieces of evidence needed for the unbiased evaluation of the argument.

Firstly, the author lacks evidence which supports that his approach of studying cultures by interviewing them is effective enough. It could be the case that the children whom he interviewed were not telling the actual truth. Also it could be that this new method does not take into account the biases associated with people who are being interviewed. Evidence (preferably a scientific study) is required which shows the efficacy of this method. If the author fails to provide this evidence then it makes the argument weaker.

Secondly, the author does not gives any information about the sample size of both the methodologies. It could be the case that Dr Field's research takes a large sample size and Dr Karp's method takes only a few dozen interviews. This mismatch in scale of the research can cause the ambiguity in the result provided. Hence, there an evidence is required which compares both the methods. If author fails to provide this evidence then it makes the argument weaker

Lastly, the author did not gave any information about what was the time difference during which both studies were conducted. It can be the case that there was a transition in population of the tertian and has affected the research of Dr Karp. Again, an evidence should be provided which clearly states the time difference between the studies and also what changes occured in the population. If author fails to provide this evidence then it makes the argument weaker

In conclusion, there must be at least three evidence required to evaluate the argument. If the author fails to provide the evidence then it makes the argument flawed to its very core.