Television advertising directed toward young children (aged two to five) should not be allowed.

Some people believe that television advertising directed towards young children should be allowed. However, in my opinion, I do not agree and think that these advertisements should not be shown to children below five years for two reasons.

First of all, the tv advertisement creates a desire to buy in children who are naive and do know anything about the real world. Exploiting this naiveness are the companies that advertise a simple product in a showy manner to attract the children, which can be a waste of money most of the time. For example, My four-year-old nephew watches a TV show named Ben 10. Usually, he does not want people to be around when he is watching the show. But one day he invited me to watch the show. After the show ended, there was an advertisement that showed the same gadget that was worn by the show's main character. He immediately pointed towards that gadget and said to buy him one. As an adult, I knew that this toy would not work as shown in the show, but my nephew wanted it. That's why I had to buy him that gadget. It was really expensive but was made of completely cheap plastic. The previous example shows how the advertisements can really waste precious money which could have been used for something better like buying new books. Thus, tv advertisements can both waste your money and create an insatiable desire in children.

Secondly, TV advertisements sometimes cross the line between what is good for adults and what is good for children. Some TV advertisements really show content that requires parental guidance. For example, a TV advertisement that tells that a four-year-old child should start to learn coding skills is just too much. At the age when a child should learn how to read and write, these people are showing them that it is a necessary skill that will be required for your professional career. Parents are also highly susceptible to this kind of advertisement, especially those who are from poor families. These advertisements give false hope to the people just for the sake of earning money. That should not be tolerated at all. Hence, it is really necessary to avoid these types of TV advertisements.

In conclusion, there can be some advertisements that are truly beneficial for the children, but for the majority, this is not the case at all. Thus, TV advertisements made for young children should be avoided because they waste money and can be fraudulent.