In order to become well-rounded individuals, all college students should be required to take courses in which they read poetry, novels, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature.

Hard work and Imagination are the two key essentials for success in one's career and life. The prompt recommends all college students should be required to take poetry, novel, mythology, and other types of imaginative literature courses. In my opinion, I loosely agree with the prompt. The students should take some extra courses which give them a second perspective towards life.

For some students, it may be an unnecessary burden to bear in addition to courses related to their specialization. For instance, for a weak student who is barely able to handle the coursework related to his major, the additional courses on poetry, novel, and other imaginative literature will be overkill. The main priority of that student is to survive and those extra courses will exacerbate situations beyond redress.

On the contrary side, the conglomeration of the various different fields will lead to out-of-the-box thinking. The students which are the result of this suggestion will have a great imagination. A study conducted by the University of Amsterdam shows that students who took a variety of classes like mythology and poetry had a higher brain function compared to those who didn't. Higher brain function measures the person's ability to think out of the box when faced with hypothetical situations. This shows us that taking a variety of courses as suggested will be beneficial in the long term.

Furthermore, trying out different things can sometimes lead to a surprising result. For instance, a survey conducted by the Indian Institute of Technology Bombay stated that eighty percent of people found a new passion after taking several courses related to arts. The previous example demonstrates that trying a different perspective can sometimes lead to the discovery of newer, better ways to career and life in general.

Although there are a few negatives associated with this suggestion, the positives outweigh the negatives. There can be scenarios in which this suggestion doesn't hold true but for the majority of the population, it is good.