Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives.

Being an effective leader is not a simple two sided coin, rather a spectrum in which every evaluation of effectiveness is a relative measure. The prompt says that in order to be effective, a political leader must listen to public opinion or remain consistently committed to particular principles and objectives. In my opinion, answer on how to be an effective political leader is not that simple. This passage explains the complexity of the topic in 3 reasons.

To begin with, The political leaders should yield or at least listen to the public opinion because by any decision or policy changes, people are the ones who are ultimately affected. For Instance, Let's assume that Political leaders of a city which is a major supplier of alcohol throughout the country introduce a ban on alcohol production overnight. The main source of income for people of that city is the export of alcohol products. Overnight ban of the alcohol product hindered the only source of income for the city and now people are out of job due to a single decision. The above example illustrates how a single decision of political leaders can make or break people's lives. Should the political leaders have listened to the people, there might have been some middle way out of this situation.

On the contrary, the political leaders are ones who are responsible for their decisions. Those decisions must be based on some necessity or for the welfare of the public itself. For Instance, Many countries ban sexually explicit content for all age groups. A survey among the people of those countries have found that 55 percent of the people do not see this as a good decision. While the rest 45 percent agree that this will be beneficial in the long term. This example illustrates that there are some decisions which political leaders have to take by themselves based on the long term impact of that decision on the people. This also shows that there are some topics in which the public will have mixed opinions but ultimately the political leader is the one who will be responsible for the decision

The answer to the question "Which leader is effective, the one who yields to public opinions or the one who consistently follows principle?" is not a simple but a complex one. The effectiveness of a leader is subjective to whom this question is being asked. A fellow politician of that political leader might have a different opinion than a common person.

So it is not easy to say that a political leader is effective or not based on who the leader listens to.