“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

Author's conclusion, every effort must be made to deport them (illegal immigrants) to their country of origin is based on the premise that illegal immigrants are the ones endangering the economy and national identity. Before the authors argument to be considered as flawless, there are some assumptions which needs to be taken in consideration while evaluating the argument. This essay points out three of these assumptions.

Firstly, author is assuming that illegal immigrants are responsible for the downfall of nations economy and identity. It may be possible that the country is in a conflict with another country as a result of which we can observe the strain of conflct on economy. It may also be possible that conflict is a controversial one which drawing lot of attention from other big players who can affect the economy and the position of country as whole. Authors need to provide an evidence to clear out this assumption. If this scenario is possible then it weakens the argument.

Secondly, author is assuming, immigrants come from crossing the borders illegally. It may be possible that the majority of the immigrants are coming through a verified way and are not illegally entering the country. It may also be possible that the people whom author is calling illegal immigrants are actually native tribes of that country who are just not registered in the database as the citizens. Author needs to clear this assumption by some evidence (perhaps a survey). If authors fails to clear out the assumption, then it makes the argument weak.

In conclusion, authors argument contains many holes which needs to be filled before it can be considered for evaluation. If author is able to clear out the assumptions then it