A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor.

A person accused of crime is innocent and should be treated as such till proven guilty. The prompt suggests, A person who knowingly commits a crime has broken the social contract and should not retain any civil rights or the right to benefit from his or her own labor. In my opinion, this topic is not as simple as it seems to be and is relative from person to person or case to case. This article explains the complexity of the issue by three examples.

The person who seems to have commited crime should be punished commensurately and should be deprived of his or her civil rights or right to benefit from his or her own labor. This is based on the reason that once a person commits a crime, he or she automatically gives up right to freedom. The society should not allow any person to not pay for his or her crimes. For instance, A man who rapes a women without thinking about anything is a criminal and should be punished as such.

On the contrary, the person who commits a crime in self defense is innocent and should not be subjected to such a harsh punishment because, he or she was only trying to protect one-self. For instance, A women in self defence harms a person who is trying to rape her. This example shows that not all are who commited some crime are criminal and should be treated as such. It should not be the case that this women is subjected to same condition as the man in previous example. So, it depends on the case and the punishment should be as such.

Similarly, A person who has allegedly commited the crime should not be treated as a criminal and should have all the rights a normal person have. For instance, There is a person "A" who is trying to help another person "B" in grave danger. Things not always turn out to be the way we expect them to be. So, it is possible that person "B" dies near the person "A". This does not mean person "A" killed person "B". This example shows that we should first investigate then jump to the conclusion about a person.

In Conclusion, this issue is not as simple as it seems and there is no general answer to this. Before we jump to any conclusion about a person, we should investigate the case fully and then decide whether he or she should be deprived of the rights or not.