In surveys Mason City residents rank water sports (swimming, boating and fishing) among their favorite recreational activities. The Mason River flowing through the city is rarely used for these pursuits, however, and the city park department devotes little of its budget to maintaining riverside recreational facilities. For years there have been complaints from residents about the quality of the river's water and the river's smell. In response, the state has recently announced plans to clean up Mason River. Use of the river for water sports is therefore sure to increase. The city government should for that reason devote more money in this year's budget to riverside recreational facilities.

The author concludes, Use of mason river is sure to increase and thus, city government should allocate more funds to riverside recreational facilities. This conclusion is based on the evidence that resident's don't use the river for their recreation activities because of the quality and smell of the Mason River's water. The author's argument as it stands now is flawed and uses three main assumptions to reach this conclusion. Firstly, author assumes that if resident's do not use mason river because of it's quality and smell. It can be the case that resident's do not like to play in mason city river because of the weather condition of Mason city. It can also be the case that they only like that sports but do not actually ever try it themselves. If any of the two previous examples fill the assumption then it makes the argument weaker. Secondly, it is assumed that pouring more funds to cleaning the river will be successfull. It can be the case that smell and quality of water are the result of some minerals being dissolve in the water. If this holds true then any amount of money will not be able to clean up the river. Lastly, author assumes that there is a emergent need for cleaning up the river because resident's are complaining. It is possible that majority of resident's do not care if the river gets cleaned or nor and only a handfull of people whose buisness is effected by the quality of water are complaining. If this hold true there is no need to spent a huge amount of money because majority of people are not affected by it. In conclusion, the author assumes three main assumptions which need to be addressed before the statement can be considered veracious. If the author fails to provide evidence to fill the gaps then argument cannot be evaluated and hence, will be considered a hoax.