The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Childrens are the future of a country and should be prepared for it with care and comfort. The prompt recommends, the best way for a society to prepare its young people for various roles is by instilling them a sense of cooperation, not competition. In my opinion, i agree with the prompt. By cooperation we can accomplish much more than by competition.

At first, it may seem that competition is the best way to find the best talent. However, a country cannot be run by a single person who came first in a competition. It requires a combined effort of individuals with different story, experience and talent. For instance, in a south asian country named india, a fierce competition is among the students who are all competiting against each other for getting into IIT's or NIT's. After several years of competition when they reach there goal of IIT, they are not sure what to do next. On the other hand, students of Finland are encouraged to act as team and eases any competition between them. As a result, they are the best education system in the world.

In addition, when children are cooperating in a certain task, it gives them a sense of contribution. A survey conducted among the high school students of Ryan International School Delhi showed that eighty percent of the student who engage in a group activity or some thing which requires to cooperate with each other are more likely to be effective in work than people who don't engage in such activities. It shows that while competition will give you a winner among some people, cooperation will give a larger group of people who all are effective in what they do.

Furthermore, it is also the case that when a children try to cooperate with others, they will be at ease while working in an unknown environment with unknown people. A research study conducted by indian institute of science banglore found, students with more group activity are more socialable and comfortable with unknown people as compared to who did not took part in a group activity or a project. It shows that cooperation can sometimes be beneficial for improving social life of a student.

In conclusion, it may be possible that for some students competition yields a good result but for the majority it does not. Thus, it is better to have students to be in a cooperative environment rather than a competitive one, as the pros of cooperation outweigh benefits of competition.