We need to increase the funding for the movie Working Title by 10% in order to ensure a quality product. As you know, we are working with a first-time director, whose only previous experience has been shooting commercials for a shampoo company. Since the advertising business is notoriously wasteful, it stands to reason that our director will expect to be able to shoot take after take, without concern for how much time is being spent on any one scene. In addition, while we have saved money by hiring relatively inexperienced assistant producers and directors, this savings in salary will undoubtedly translate to greater expenditures in paying the actors and unionized crew overtime for the extra hours they will spend on the set waiting for the assistant directors and producers to arrange things. If we don’t get this extra money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure

The conclusion, "if they don't get extra 10 percent of the money, the movie is virtually assured to be a failure", is based on the evidence that director hired for the movie is only experience in commercials and this will led to extra time on set and hence extra money. The conclusion of the producer depends on three assumption which are studied in this essay.

First assumption of the director is that director is not qualified or experienced enough for the job. This assumption is the central point of the whole argument and it is a big one also. It can be the case that the director is not having any profession experience as the main but has some experience as the assitant director in many big projects. Also if the director was not having any relevant experience then why he or she was hired in the first place? If the producer can clear out this assumption by giving any proof that director is not experienced. Then it will make the argument strong.

Second assumption of the producer is that actors and unionized crew may have to be paid extra. This assumption has two sides to it. First being that director will not be able to finish the movie shooting in time and the second being the crew and actors are paid by per hour system. It may be possible that the director will finish the movie in time as he is not able to evaluate his work during the shoot. Second possibility being that the actor and crew may not be paid on per hour basis and thus no requirement for extra payment. If the two possibilites behind the assumption hold true then it will make the producers argument weak.

Third assumption is that only 10 percent will be enough for both any extra money requirements. This assumption really pushes the project to a cliff as it is possible that an amount more than the extra 10 pecent will be required for extra expenses and payments. If the condition behind the argument is true then this makes the assumption weaker.

In conclusion, the producers argument that extra 10 percent money is required otherwise the movie project will fail is flawed to its very core as shown in three paragraphs above. More evidence is needed for clearing out the assumptions. If, producer is able to provide those evidence then, the argument can be evaluated in a much more insightful ways.