It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts

In my opinion, for students, understanding the idea and concepts is far more important than simply mugging up facts. When they grow up, to work in a challenging environment, the understanding of concepts will be much more important to succeed in their career. In the following passage, I will explore in detail why I feel this way.

First, all of the modern-day discoveries are happening due to the advanced research been done in variety of fields. This research can't be done on the basis of some random fact, it requires profound understanding of the idea in which they are researching. For instance, the discovery of the first light emitting diode by Thomas Edison was done after rigorous hard work behind his idea. He failed hundreds of times, but he was persistent in his work. As a result, he did a groundbreaking invention which we have been using from several years. He would have not been able to do this on the basis of some facts in his related domain. Hence, understanding the idea or concept can help student apply their knowledge and contribute to the discoveries happening in the world.

Second, learning and understanding this complex idea and concepts can help develop our critical thinking ability. It helps in making the student's brain sharper and faster, which will help them in crucial times. For example, in my construction job I daily encounter challenges. The challenges can be pretty hard to solve because they always bring new types of problem to the table. It can either something related to execution, or cost, or some conflicts in plan. Often the solutions need to be proposed as soon as possible because the work should not stop for long. Solving this requires a sharp and fast brain, and critically think about the solution and propose the best one possible. Different people encounter different challenges in their domain. The point is students should train their mind to tackle these types of situations and understanding the idea and concepts can be a good step forward in this direction to make the brain efficient.

In conclusion, the two reasons mentioned in the above passage justifies the opinion, how important it can be for students to understand the idea and concepts rather than learning facts.