It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

Generally speaking, there are many debates about educational methods and how it has to be. However, many experts contend the students first need to learn the facts.On the other hand, proponents of deep understanding of concepts believe which students chiefly have to become familiar with reasons of fundamental axioms. Although learning facts has its advantages, in my point of view, I strongly recommend to deep understanding of facts which leads to bearing competence students for the following reasons.

One important aspect of deep understanding is that students will learn to conclude the facts by themselves. In this learning method students will become capable of proving facts on their own. By the same token, This method is beneficial because students will never forget the axioms, and they completely become familiar with infrastructures. According to varies types of research, students who examined the concepts by themselves are more successful in recalling the facts after a few years in contrast to students who just memorized these axioms. For example, I still remember many facts about geology because the professor of geology class back in college was pursuing this method and many students achieved this capability to conclude the results by themselves from the evidence. Although I just remember a few formulas in math because I and other students were busy with memorizing the facts whole time, and after a few years they are vague in my mind.

Another equally important point about deep understanding is that it gives students motivation for further learning and research. It encourages students to enjoy scientific matters and change the boring atmosphere around scientific courses. Even though in future it helps students to become a scientist, and prove their own theories based on the facts rooted in their mind not some nonsense concepts which they memorized. For example one of my friends who is a successful scientist now had this habbit in college which he never accepted the axioms without knowing the philosophy behind it and was obsessive about it. When I asked him about the key-point of his achievements he explained that he owes everything to this habit.

So based on all points mentioned above, it has many advantages in contrast to just memorizing the facts without knowing the cause which is hidden behind it however, many professors still don't believe in this method.