It is more important for students to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

It is, as numerous students internalize, really difficult to perform a balancing act on 2 parts of a learning process according to importance. Leaving out their respective benefits, however, students should invariably come to the realization that it is learning the facts that facilitates the absorbance of concepts and enriches the ideas.

Firstly, learning the facts promotes the efficiency in studying the concepts. Recent criticisms have drastically reprimanded the school systems for being "Ivory towers", where concepts are divorced from the practical applications. In order to inverse such negative perceptions, now we are assigned to projects to embark on which involve a considerable amount of research so as to integrate ideas with facts when a new concept is being demonstrated. For example, during the research essay that was concentrated on government intervention with regard to the great depression in Canada, never ever had I authentically understood how this administration benefited people until I learned about the fact that relief policy had been enforced to remove the burden of their financial bankruptcy. Consequently I succeeded in boosting my efficiency of absorbing a certain idea by making reference to a historical event.

Moreover, studying the facts can be beneficial to deepening the concepts. How can we achieve excellence in internalizing a certain idea without applying it to the contemporary or primordial state that is the most imperative? In a word, fact is like a vehicle which we should employ to unravel all the relevantly corresponding scenarios. For example, if I were to present the class with a speech featuring the "chicken or the egg" dilemma by arguing the former comes the first, I would eventually need to put my theory in a framework that is constructed with reliable and impeccable evidences; I would go to the library and search for facts that bolsters my idea and can gradually "Hijack" the brains of the audience by leading them to ultimately develop this enriched mindset about the chicken's existence preceding the egg's.

In conclusion, there is no sweeping generalization as to which one is more important, the fact or the idea. No matter which of them outweighs the other, what we should bear in mind is that fact is an indispensable link between unprocessed knowledge and internalization as well as enrichment.