kim jung un

North Korean leader Kim Jong-un on Wednesday declared the regime will continue to develop its nuclear program and debut a new “strategic weapon” in the near future, if the US does not end its economic sanctions.

His remarks -- during an unexpectedly long four-day meeting of ruling party officials, reported by the state-run Korea Central News Agency -- signals the country plans to revert to its prior “byungjin” policy of simultaneously developing nuclear capabilities alongside the economy.

The North had dropped the aggressive byungjin line and pursued the “economy-first” policy in April 2018, with a self-imposed moratorium on intercontinental ballistic missiles and nuclear tests, hoping that the decision would prompt the US to lift its economic sanctions.

Indicating a shift in the country’s position, Kim said there is no longer a need to be bound by its self-imposed moratorium, as the US continues conducting military drills, adopting cutting-edge weapons and imposing sanctions on the North, the KCNA reported.