Some companies provide important products, but also damage the environment. Some people believe that the government should require more penalties, higher taxes, and larger fines of these companies, while others believe that there are better ways. Which one do you prefer?

Some people think that instead of implementing policies such as more penalties, higher taxes, and larger fines for companies which damage environment to protect the environment, there are better ways. However, I believe that such policies can be an effective way to protect the environment. This is because policies enable companies to reduce producing harmful substances for environment and to develop eco-friendly technologies.

First of all, the policy involving reinforced punishments enables company to reduce producing harmful substances immediately. This is because if the company do not follow the policy, their profit would declined which results in dissatisfaction of shareholders and negative effects to company's future. Consequently, they follow the policy immediately. For example, 10 years ago, the local government of Ulsan, the popular metropolitan city in Korea, decided to implement the policy including higher taxes and larger fines of companies which produced important products while damaging the environment. Since the companies worried declines in their profit, they followed the policy immediately which means the local government could protect the environment. In this regard, the policy can protect the environment.

Moreover, the policy enables companies to develop eco-friendly technology. Understanding the potential role of the policy is important to substantiate this view. For example, in Korea, the government concerned about the high level of carbon dioxide and harmful gas, so they suggested the policy including higher taxes and more penalties to purify the air contamination. Consequently, Hyundai Motors started to invest electric engine which is more friendly to the environment instead of gasoline engines. Nowadays, there are a lot of cars on street with electric engines in Korea, which means that they do not contaminate the air condition. In the regard, the punishment policy can protect the environment by motivating companies to develop eco-friendly technology.

To sum up I believe the punishment policy is a effective way to protect the environment. This is because it enables companies to reduce harmful substances immediately and to develop new eco-friendly technologies. Consequently, the importance of my view cannot be underestimated for the reasons that I have mentioned above.