Leaders like John F. Kennedy and Martin Luther King have made important contributions to the people of the United States. Name another world leader you think is important. Give reasons and specific examples for your choice.

Leaders play a very crucial part in our life as they guide us. There are several kinds of leaders, but the true one is who spend his own life for people’s good. From my vintage point, Mahatma Gandhi played important role for Indian population and he was a very immense world leader. I would like to give some reasons for my selection.

The first exquisite point to be mentioned is that He gifted freedom to India. Mahatma Gandhi was the only person, who fought with true spirit against British people. I recently read an article about India’s victory, Gandhi was a very educated person. He belonged to a well-known Lawyer family. British people were dominating India for hundreds of years. He went London for his law study but faced discrimination there. He was treated differently from the white people, as he was a black color man. He felt very disturbed and started a strike there for equality. With the help of other people, he got his rights in U.K. Then, he realized that how people are suffering in his own country from the same situation. He went back to India and fought for others people right. He had several moral values, which helped him to win freedom for India. He had a motto of freedom and justice. People called him “National father”. Thus, he was a true hero of India.

Second, Gandhi motivates people for his moral values like non- violence and truth. He believed in “simple living and high thinking”. People gave him a name “Mahatma” , which means great soul. He started his battel with truth and justice. British Government was collecting tax revenue on salt from Indian people. This was unfair, therefore he started “Salt March”, he and his followers were walked for 300 kilo meters. He went on several strikes like “satyagraha”. He went on fasting for several days without a single bite of a food. For these all actions, he went to the prison for 5 months. Just because of his great efforts, on 15 August 1947, British people turned down and run away from India. After one year, he got a shot and died. People remember him as a god, which helped people to chase their rights. All people admire him because of his great thoughts and kindness.

Last but not the least, the research, which was done in India’s university show that teenagers follow Gandhi as an ideal person. The study was done by asking several questions about leaders of India and Gandhi was a prime choice of those the teenagers.

To wrap up, Mahatma was a leader, who played a very vital role in India history. His birthday celebrates as “The Non-Violence Day” in India. Leaders are always mentioned in the revolutionary activity.