learn history courses

To make for students' better competitiveness, universities put more and more concentration on their integrated development. Some argues that history course is so conducive to students' knowledge reserve that everyone should take it, while others claims that it is meaningless for some students to take. As for me, not all the university students should be asked to take history courses. I am going to elaborate my opinion in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, the history knowledge is useless for many majors. As we all know, knowledge can make a difference only when being used properly. However, history is more significant concern to literacy and liberal art, but has little connection with science and engineering. For example, I am major in computer science. What I learn every day is data structure, programming language, the composition of computer, and so on. During my college life, I almost have not used any history knowledge at all, besides, history has nothing to do with my future career. As a result, taking history courses is totally a waste of time and energy for students who do not need it.

Secondly, the time saved by not taking history courses can be utilized to do other projects. In general, learning history takes plenty of time to recite a series of historical events, the particular time of occurrence, and the correlative celebrities. Because of that, history courses will be too time-consuming to do other more meaningful activities. For students majored in science and engineering, it is more central to do practical experiments and scientific projects. In my university, students commonly work in the laboratory, learning and discussing the knowledge about cutting-edge of technology. Compared with sitting in the classroom and remembering the rigid history calendar, doing projects can better expand students’ outlook, enrich their experience and help their future development.

What’s more, it is more beneficial to students who not major in history learning it in some other ways. Admittedly, basic history knowledge is necessary for people to know about their civilization, understand the world and establish the correct worldview. However, learning history by taking courses is not the best choice for everyone. Students can also learn about historical common sense by attending lecture, reading books or watching some video materials. Thus, students can not only absorb fundamental history knowledge interestingly, but also not put too much effort on it.

All in all, from my perspective, education should vary from one person to another, which indicates that it is not a good idea to require every university students taking history courses..