Learning about the past has no value for those living in the present

It is argued that the past has no worth for those of us living in the present. However, studying the past helps us build and ensure a more flourishing present as the knowledge in all realms of life, including medicine, architecture and building, as well as politics, is directly related to the past.

Indeed, past events are of great value, especially in the field of medicine. Knowledge about endemic and pandemic diseases, medical practices as well as cures from the past is passed down through generations, making the progress in the field of medicine even more significant. Medical annals contain exhaustive knowledge how to fight against deadly diseases, such as plague or malaria. Without this, the mankind would have died out.

By the same token, architecture, one of the oldest sciences and arts in the history of mankind, traces the changes in architectural styles through various traditions and regions. Contemporary buildings have the same value and purpose as they had centuries ago, being used as a shelter or as a cultural symbol. However, today architecture became multi-disciplinary with specializations for each project type, technological expertise or project delivery methods, allowing us to create comfortable and safe buildings. Moreover, the preserved buildings from the past became objects of cultural heritage. The most famous of them Taj Mahal in India or Notre Dame de Paris in France are now available to the general public. Similarly, anyone gaining a major in the corresponding field can gather additional information from the past which can be used today.

Furthermore, politics is another example of “knowledge about the past is power.” Learning about prior conflicts and co-operation, we could prevent similar conflicts from happening and save thousands or even millions of lives. In addition, government officials feel better equipped and more confident when meeting with foreign partners to strengthen the relationships between the countries by recreating the traditions from the past. This comfort could be created via using national dress or cooking national dishes for the guests.

In conclusion, there is a strong connection between the past experience and today’s life, and we could hardly build the present without relying on the past. However, each individual must nonetheless decide for themselves whether it is still a worthwhile expense.