Learning about the past has no value for those of us living in the present. Do you agree or disagree? Use

specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

The stories of the past that constitute the world on a macro level to a single human being on a micro level, help in determining its current state and offers a logical reasoning behind it. Thus, on the foundation of this statement, I express my disagreement with the line thought that, learning from the past has no value in the present.

Firstly, inspiration can be drawn from the epic stories and lessons read in school and put to us in the present. The history taught provides the students with deep insights of various freedom fighters and the struggles that they went through, to achieve a nation that we all live in today. For example, living in India and knowing the independence story, I cannot imagine what it would be like living in that era. In similar context and information was gained through the stories my grandmother told, who was a witness to the entire scenario. The lessons learnt through these stories add value to my life and enrich it. People in that period were principled and stuck by their morals, which questions the lifestyle today. Hence, the knowledge acquired is utilised efficiently in generating a mindful and goal oriented way of life.

Additionally, the political situation of a country is determined by the decisions made by its former rulers in the past. The current topic of discussion in India, has been the elimination of special status offered to Kashmir. The reason for this special status was the result of some agendas that the rulers made during the independence of the country. Therefore, for knowing its vital role today, we ought to know the past behind it. News augmented with its history provides a foresight to what could happen in the future and make better judgements for the same.

To conclude, it is always said that we should learn from the mistakes we made in the past. Thoughts keep mushrooming in our minds, helping us tackle various circumstances, which can sometimes lead into a wrong or an unavoidable situation. It is advisable to imbibe the lessons taught by it and make sure not to repeat them, rather than rescinding from it. To attain an apogee of success, on must work assiduously and not get disheartened from his/her mistakes, they must move ahead, leaving it behind, developing it into an enlightening past for a better future.