Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay

The country's infrastructural development is judged and categorized on the basis of its development in public transport systems. Better the public transportation, better is the country's growth. Hence I believe that the government should spend more money on the Public transport rather than highways and roads.

The essay will explore many factors for the choice.

The major reason is the mushrooming of cities and with this the increasing influx of people every year. The growth in number of people in cities of developing nations are exceeding beyond limits.

Every person wants to earn money, grow rich, buy a house and a nice car. With this dream in mind, the hardwork soon reaps into the aim set, that is the car. The number of cars on road are causing consequences which are hard to reverse, like air pollution. Air pollution is affecting humans in return with health issues like asthma, lung and skin diseases.

Apart from the health effects, road congestion is leading to loss of time. The unutilised time spent in traffic is precious and many important tasks could be completed within it. Not only is it a serious waste of time, but is a crucial reason for stress among the public. Thus, by designing and incorporating better public transport systems, these issues could be solved. The trains and metros could reach the destinations faster and are also environment friendly. A huge chunk of people are transported to a single destination at the same time, saving large amounts of gas release into the air.

Since the connecting points are alloted in a way to shorten the travel time, the stress causing traffic is eliminated.

A country's trade and foreign relations can expand through expansion of public transport. The export and import business usually runs through the country's goods carrier trains, cargo ships and airplanes, out of which trains are widely used, owing to its less price. New innovations and prospects are introduced for the betterment of public transit systems. For example, Hyperloop has been introduced in India, to connect Mumbai and Pune, a journey that would take 4 hours by a 4 wheeler of 2 wheeler, will now take only 35 minutes. Hyperloo also cuts down the fuel usage and exploitation of natural resources.With the coming up of new, faster methods of transit , communication can reach a global level, such that more technological based systems like the Hyperloop can be introduced.

The investments made by big multinational companies based in countries like U.S.A can help developing nations like India to prosper and build a strong export industry. Trade will be at its apogee with the flourishing of public transport.

To conclude, the public transport is an integral part of the country's/city's identity. A city like Mumbai is known for its railway train system, Delhi for its metro, so much so that tourists find it exciting to gain an experience of travelling in one. The job opportunities and accessibility could widen if the government plans and spends adequate resources in developing the transportation for its mass. Thus, the money spent will be beneficial and will find its way back to the country's reserve bank by an efficient public transport system.