The Little Ice Age was a period of unusually cold temperature in many parts of the world that lasted from about the year 1350 until 1900C.E.. There were unusually harsh winters, and glaciers grew larger in many areas. Scientists have long wondered what caused the Little Ice Age. Several possible causes have been proposed.

First, the cooling may have been caused by disrupting of ocean currents. Before the Little Ice Age, there was a period of unusually warm weather during which glaciers melted. These melted glaciers sent a large amount of cold freshwater into the Gulf Stream, a large ocean current that strongly affects Earth's climate. Some scientists believe that this freshwater was enough to temporarily disrupt the Gulf Stream. Such a disruption could have caused the Little Ice Age.

Second, volcanic eruption could have caused the Little Ice Age. When volcanoes erupt, they send dark clouds of dust and sulfur gas into the atmosphere. These clouds, which can spread over great areas, block some sunlight from reaching Earth's surface. This can decrease the global temperatures. Scientists know of several volcanic eruption that took place during the Little Ice Age.

Third, substantial decreases in human populations may have contributed indirectly to the cooling of the climate. For a variety of reason(disease, warfare, social disruption), the human population just before the Little Ice Age and during the early part of it was lower than it had been in a long time. Forest trees started growing on fields that were no longer used for agriculture. Since trees absorb carbon dioxide, a greenhouse gas, they decrease the greenhouse effect that keeps Earth warm. With more forest trees absorbing carbon dioxide, earth became cooler.

The article states that there are three possible causes of the Little Ice age and provides three reasons for supports. However, the professor explains that the arguments in the passage is out of date and refutes the author's reasons.

First, the reading claims that the Gulf stream distributions cause a decline in the average temperature. The professor refutes this point by saying that distributing happens only in Europe and North America. He states that the temperature of the other hemisphere of the earth also declines remarkably without any distribution of its Gulf stream.

Second, the article posits that the eruption from volcanic activity could have decreased the global temperature and cause the Little Ice age. the professor says that there are no reports show phenomena that appear with the presence of a large amount of dust. According to the professor, the amount of volcanic dust in the globe is not enough to produce the Little Ice age.

Third, the reading says that the forest tree is the third possible cause of the Little Ice age. According to the passage, trees decrease the global temperature by absorbing carbon dioxide from the air. The professor opposes this point by explaining that this effect of trees does not have enough time to work. He argues that trees now are not living long enough to decrease the global temperature.