Many people are afraid of leaving their houses because of the spread of crimes. Some think that more actions can be taken to prevent crime from occurring, but others think little can be done. What is your opinion?

“fear of crimes ruins the daily lives” Tara Westover, Educated, 2018. Can people stay at their home due to fear of crimes? Although believing little can be taken to prevent crime from occurring, others think that there are various actions which should be taken to halter crime. As far as I am concerned, I think more actions can be taken to slacken crime from occurring such as increasing police forces, improving education, and providing adequate decent jobs in the society. In the following, I am inclined to put forth some arguments to support my reasons.

First and foremost, it is a conventional wisdom that policeman’s arresting felons and thefts reduces the crime rate effectively. For example, according to an official statistics germane to the prisons in the UK, not only can the harsh punishment reduce the crime rate in felons’ future but also provides an appropriate environment for other citizens. Thus, by increasing police forces the controls or surveillances on the felons will be bolstered, and as a result, along with arrest and punishment, the crime rate will take a nosedive.

Another thing coming to my mind is that education take center stage in providing adequate background for people to ponder over their actions’ consequences as much as possible. As an illustrated case, UT Southwestern University’s surveys shed light on roles of education in reducing crime rate. The results were impressive. In countries that the citizens receive adequate education, the crime rate is kept in a standstill. On the other hand, in various poor regions with weak educational goals, the crime rate is escalating. Thus, it seems fair to advice governments to provide adequate education for their citizens to cut the crime rate effectively.

Last but not least, there is an indirect or reverse relationship between jobs availability and the crime rate. In other words, in societies with low available jobs, the crime rate will be increased because people need the jobs to pay their own and without those, they will be inclined to do crimes. Therefore, by providing adequate, decent jobs, the government could mitigate the crime rate efficiently.

To wrap things up, despite some people think to stay in their home could provide safety for them and they should not go to no-go-areas, others believe that there are various actions to be taken to reduce crime rate: augmenting policeman, amending education, and providing decent jobs for residents can mitigate crime rate drastically.