Many people want to protect and improve the natural environment Which ONE of the following three actions is MOST useful for individuals to do in their daily lives if they want to help the environment Why Walking or bicycling instead of driving a car to wo

With the development of industry, consuming more fossil fuels, and producing more greenhouse gas, environmental problems like climate change are becoming severe, influencing the survival of humans and animals. Therefore, for the sustainable development of the earth, we have to take action to protect the natural environment. It’s accustomed to learning that individuals are frequently trapped in continual conflicts with inner contradictions, thus it is reasonable that quite a few citizens endorse that it is more effective to recycle and reuse objects, while others prefer to buy organic foods grown without pesticides. I, however, personally hold the counterargument that walking or bicycling instead of driving a car to work or school is a better approach instead.

First and foremost, I have noticed that it is persuasive to lend credence to the idea that walking and bicycling benefit personal development because it’s conducive to improving physical health and saving more money. Most individuals, especially those who work in the “996” schedule, don’t have enough time to exercise. Walking or bicycling to work not only can save their time, but also strengthen physical health. It is the same for the student. Based on this point, I remember when I was in high school, I would bicycle to school every day; and during that time, I kept in good health though there was a lot of studying pressure. Besides, as we know, money spent on commuting makes a large part of the daily expenses, partly because of the high price of gas oil. If people walk or bicycle to work, they will save a great amount of money which can be used to promote their life quality by traveling and entertaining. Consequently, the claim that walking and bicycling benefit personal development is justified.

Another vehicle to my perspective is that recycling and reusing objects or buying organic food might cause plenty of undesirable side effects, although they are helpful to some extent. On the one hand, protecting the environment for individuals doesn’t mean we should give up the convenience of daily life. Reused objects are usually unsuitable for further using and recycling always spend a lot of extra time. If you throw them in the trash can, there will be better categorized and recycled by the specific company. On the other hand, locally grown, organic foods are usually expensive due to the higher cost and fewer supplies. Not all individuals can afford them and they can’t fulfill the large demand in quantity. Accordingly, there is little doubt that both reusing objects and buying organic foods are not completely useful in our daily life.

To sum up, frankly, sometimes it is really hard to tell whether my opinion outweighs one of the others, especially given the complicated situation describe above. However, after weighty consideration, I deeply believe the conclusion that walking and bicycling are more environmentally friendly than recycling and reusing objects and buying organic food for individuals.