Many people want to protect and improve the natural environment. Which ONE of the following three actions is MOST useful for individuals to do in their daily lives if they want to help the environment? Why?

-Walking or bicycling instead of driving a car to work or school

-Recycling and reusing objects instead of throwing them in the trash (rubbish) can

-Buying locally grown, organic foods (grown without pesticides)

Some people believe that walking or bicycling to work or school is the best way to improve the ecological condition for an individual. Others claim that recycling and reusing objects is the most favorable method. Still, others maintain that buying locally grown, organic food is the most useful method. As far as I am concerned, I maintain that

To begin with, stop wasting too much resource is a judicious approach to preserve our environment, and walking or bicycling to work or school can undoubtedly prevents people from wasting unnecessary resources. For example, if people ride a bicycle to school, they would not consume any gasoline or diesel fuel on a regular basis because bikes require no petroleum to motivate. In addition, cars were usually equipped with an air conditioner, which requires batteries. Thus, an individuals could save a significant amount of electricity each day by walking to school instead of driving. In other words, if more and more people decided to spend fewer resources, we could undoubtedly prevent our mother nature from being depleted by civilization. On the other hand, I once tried to recycle plastic bottles and cans to protect our nature, but I realized that the industry already wasted too much electricity, water, and energy to produce plastics. That is, our environmental condition will not be improved through reusing palstics because lots of energy and resources were used to produce recyclable materials in the first place.

In addition, in order to protect the ecology, an individual must not do activities that might accidentally damage the environment. However, purchasing locally grown, organic food might ironically destroy the environment to some extent. For example, my mother tried to improve the environment via purchasing organic food grown in the Hualien County and the Taitung County. Nevertheless, most organic food from Taiwan were grown on high attitude hills or mountains. To elaborate, since farmers need to cultivate mountain areas to grow organic vegetables, purchasing organic food still disturb the nature. As a result, buying locally grown vegetables and fruit could not help people preserve the natural environment. On the contrary, many researchers around the world have proven that walking to school every day can save the environment because the amount of carbon dioxide and methane emitted will be reduced. Hence, walking to school or work can unquestionably protect the environment because such an idea is backed by scientists all around the world.

In conclusion, I maintain that walking to school or bicycling to work is the most advisable method for an individual to preserve our environment, considering the aforementioned reasons.